Tags

,

The 1890 US Census or lack there of has caused me my fair share of frustration. Nothing more than the case of my 3rd Great Grandmother Julia Young. I know her name thanks to my great grandmother (Mommom Ringgold) and I’ve confirmed her name through birth records. Such a fun mystery…

Her husband George Johnson (my 3rd great grandfather) is listed in the 1880 US Census as a single 25 year old man living his life in Peach Bottom, York PA. Fast Forward to the 1900 US Census and he is still living in Peach Bottom, York PA but he’s now WIDOWED with not one but NINE children, ages ranging from 17 to 1 years old. Talk about throwing me for a loop! I did the math and reasoned that Julia had to have died roughly around 1898/99 but when or where I have yet to find out. I have had no luck with finding a birth, death, marriage certificate but I have a feeling that something will come of this sooner than later. Until then, I blame the fire!

