There are people that are in your life that you take for granted and don’t realize their value until it is much too late. That certainly WAS NOT the case between myself and my great grandmother Clara Hannah Harris-Ringgold.”Mommom Ringgold” I knew what a gem she was and that is why it was my saddest moment to acknowledge her passing…

~ Clara Hannah Harris “Mommom” Ringgold ~

November 21, 1925 – October 31, 2016

One of the hardest things  I’ve had to do in my life to date was to say goodbye to my one of my best friends…

My sadness is truly just because I’ll miss her. There are no regrets because I made sure to give her her flowers while she could see, smell, and enjoy them. The selfish part of me wishes that I could keep her with me always (and I will in my own way) but she is in a better place and best of all she is at peace.

She lived a full and wonderful life and she left one heck of a legacy; one that I’m so very proud to be a part of. She was loved by everyone who had ever met her and she had a love for them in return.

I owe her so much, the majority of my genealogy fire was fueled by her and she loved to hear about my discoveries just as much as I loved finding them…

I have so many memories to hold onto and a lot of footage to tide me over during the rough times… the song rings true though “Aint nothing like the real thing”

I created my own Personal Tribute Video for my great grandmother… however the video that I created for her home going celebration was for everyone to enjoy and remember her by.

